Maggie Bassett Award 2013

We are thrilled to announce that Theatre Ontario’s Maggie Bassett Award for 2013 was presented to Tom Mackan.  The award, for a sustained and significant contribution by an individual to the development of theatre in Ontario, recognizes Tom and “the warm welcome and secure environment he fosters for those involved in the Hamilton-Burlington theatre community.”

award_maggiebassett2013Tom Mackan has been active in Hamilton-area community theatre since the 1960s.  He has worked as an actor and director with companies like the Players Guild of Hamilton, Dundas Little Theatre, Theatre Burlington, and has won over 30 awards for acting and directing.  He has also been a booster for area theatre, as a community reviewer for the Hamilton Fringe Festival, a regular writer for Hamilton’s View Magazine, an editor and publisher of a Greater Hamilton Area e-network, and a winner of 2007 City of Hamilton Arts Award for theatre.

"Tom is a wonderful personification of how theatre is a passion for life," said Carol Beauchamp, Theatre Ontario Executive Director.  “It’s a creative art form that you actively contribute to, and grow with, from one’s youth to being an elder statesman of community theatre."

“Winning this means that our area theatre companies matter,” said Tom to the Hamilton Spectator.  “And our umbrella group at Theatre Ontario wants us to know it.  It means we need to feel good about ourselves, to know that we are known and valued as serious participants in the arts community of Hamilton and Burlington.  We can take ourselves seriously.”

Theatre Ontario’s Maggie Bassett Award is presented to an individual who, over a number of years, has made a sustained and significant contribution to the development of theatre in Ontario.  As Theatre Ontario’s first employee, the late Maggie Bassett created a solid foundation for the organization by launching the Professional Theatre Training Program, Summer Courses, and the newsletter.  Her love for the arts held no barriers between community, professional or educational theatre.  Maggie was also a fine director and actress and performed at Tarragon Theatre, Huron County Playhouse, and at the Alumnae Theatre.  For many years, she attended all regional festivals.  She was known for her warmth, humour, sparkle and the sincere encouragement she bestowed on those around her.  This award is for dedication to theatre beyond the call of duty.  The award is a stunning bronze statuette entitled “COURAGE”, designed by Rita Tuckett and sculpted by Ronald Thom.

The award is currently sponsored by Alumnae Theatre.

Past recipients of Theatre Ontario’s Maggie Bassett Award are Ken Watts, Elsie Thomson, Jean Roberts, Herbert Whittaker, Heather McCallum, Herman Voaden, Dennis Sweeting, Jack Medhurst, Jack Blacklock, Sandy Black, Patricia Beharriell, Wilf Pegg, Virginia Reh, Lib Spry, Wayne Fairhead, Richard Howard, Dusty Miller, Kay McKie, Beth McMaster, Sandra Tulloch, Jeff Burke, James Alexander, Ron Cameron-Lewis, Angela Rebeiro, Kim Renders, Yvette Nolan, Alex Mustakas, Don Fleckser, Diana Belshaw, and Dave Carley.

Read more about Theatre Ontario’s Maggie Bassett Award

Discuss the Maggie Bassett Award on Theatre Ontario's Blog


401 Richmond Street West, Suite 350, Toronto, ON, M5V 3A8
Telephone: 416.408.4556 (Find an Extension) / Fax: 416.408.3402
Get Directions / Contact Us via E-Mail


Monday to Friday: 9 am to 5 pm
(In July and August, our hours are Monday to Thursday: 9 am to 5 pm and Friday: 9 am to 1 pm)