Michael Spence Award for Contribution to Community Theatre 2018

Perkins_SueTheatre Ontario is thrilled to announce that the 2018 Michael Spence Award for Contribution to Community Theatre will be presented to Susan M. Perkins of London. This award is presented by Theatre Ontario from the nomination by London Community Players, and on the recommendation of WODL, the Western Ontario Drama League.

The award honours individuals for sustained contribution to community theatre, generosity of spirit, involvement, and commitment to community theatre that is legendary within their region, helping community theatre flourish. Sue will receive her award on May 20 at the Theatre Ontario Festival Awards Brunch in London.

Sue Perkins has been active in the London and southwestern Ontario community theatre sector for four decades, but her contribution to community theatre in the province began before that in North Bay as an artist and board member with Gateway Theatre Guild and QUONTA (the northeastern Ontario community theatre association), and as one of the organizers of the first Theatre Ontario Annual General Meeting in North Bay.

Sue joined London Community Players (LCP) in 1978. In the subsequent forty years, she has been an actor, director, and stage manager, with dozens of productions to her credit, and honours for her acting at WODL Festivals.  Her contributions to LCP include terms on their Board as Secretary and Vice President of Production, a frequent member of their Play Reading Committee, a current member of their Production Committee, and continuous service as Archivist since 1980. LCP has recognized her contributions with a Life Membership.

Sue has served as a co-chair of festivals for both WODL (1994, 2000, and 2011) and Theatre Ontario (1986 and 2010), and served on the Board of Directors for both organizations, including two years as President of WODL, and two years as Chair of Theatre Ontario’s Community Theatre Committee. "It is stunning to be at any Festival with her," said April Chappell of London Community Players. "Everyone knows her and she remembers everyone."

"I am honoured indeed to be selected for this award," said Sue. "I have been amply rewarded over the years with the friendship and camaraderie of so many theatre people throughout the province, in addition to having the opportunity to act, stage manage, run lights and direct. What more could I ask! I am privileged to be a part of the theatre community in Ontario, and wish all much success in the years to come."

The Michael Spence Award honours legendary contributions to community theatre in Ontario, and is named after Michael Spence, the founding President of Theatre Ontario. Michael was active in community theatre at Hart House Theatre, London Little Theatre, and the University Alumnae Dramatic Club (now known as Alumnae Theatre.) He was a member of the Board of Governors of the Dominion Drama Festival, a past President of Arts Etobicoke, and he continues to be an enthusiastic supporter of Theatre Ontario.

Past recipients of the Michael Spence Award in the WODL region are Anne Wilson, Vince Mathewson, Val Hadley, Lawrie Bonanno, and Bev Dietrich.

Find out more about Theatre Ontario’s Michael Spence Award for Contribution to Community Theatre

Join us at the award presentation at Theatre Ontario Festival 2018


401 Richmond Street West, Suite 350, Toronto, ON, M5V 3A8
Telephone: 416.408.4556 (Find an Extension) / Fax: 416.408.3402
Get Directions / Contact Us via E-Mail


Monday to Friday: 9 am to 5 pm
(In July and August, our hours are Monday to Thursday: 9 am to 5 pm and Friday: 9 am to 1 pm)