Intern Directors 2012 at the Neil Munro Intern Directors Project at the Shaw Festival

Congratulations to Krista Jackson and Michael Wheeler, who were chosen as the two Intern Directors for the 2012 season at the Shaw Festival.

Krista_JacksonKrista Jackson has been working in Canadian theatre for the past two decades and last season co-directed The Seafarer with Gina Wilkinson at the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre’s (RMTC). Krista is co-founder and artistic director of zone41 ( a new theatre with a mandate to re-vision classics in Winnipeg.  The company’s inaugural production of Bruce McManus’ adaptation of Three Sisters will be presented in partnership with Theatre Projects Manitoba this fall.  Krista will then direct Village Wooing for zone41 in RMTC’s 2012 Master Playwrights Festival which will celebrate the work of G.B. Shaw. The show will run in conjunction with Eric Lesage’s 20 panel exhibit of a deconstructed 1956 Webster’s English Dictionary at RAW: Gallery of Architecture and Design. She is also currently collaborating with playwright Carolyn Gray on a Molière adaptation for next season.  “In a telegram to Moscow Arts Theatre in 1899, Chekhov wrote ‘We shall work mindfully, cheerfully, tirelessly, unanimously.’  I will try to do just that as an intern director at the Shaw Festival for the 2012 season.  I look forward to a summer devoted to investigating and learning with the Shaw’s dynamic company of artists.”

Michael_Wheeler_ShawMichael Wheeler has directed ten original productions as Artistic Director of Praxis Theatre.  He is currently directing Jesus Chrysler by Tara Beagan presented at Theatre Passe Muraille and is Co-Curator of the Freefall Festival at The Theatre Centre.  Michael has trained as a director at the Tarragon Theatre, as an artistic producer with Volcano Theatre and is editor of Assistant director credits include Tear The Curtain at The Cultural Olympiad and Peggy Pickit Sees The Face of God as part of Luminato and Canadian Stage.  He is the recent recipient of two separate Royal Bank of Canada Artist Awards: the 2011 SummerWorks Arts Professional Award and was a Finalist for the 2010 Toronto Arts Foundation Emerging Artist Award. Michael is a member of The Wrecking Ball holds an MFA from the Moscow Art Theatre.  “As Artistic Director of a theatre company with a sociopolitcal mandate, spending a season at a festival founded on the works of one of theatre’s great social justice advocates is a tremendous opportunity. There is much to learn from the incredible artists that comprise The Shaw Festival and the exceptional resources available to directors there."

Read Michael's blog posts about the 2012 internship on the Praxis Theatre site

Past Intern Directors

Paulina Abarca-Cantin, Conrad Alexandrowicz, Kathryn Allison, Liza Balkan, Richard Beaune, Geoffrey Brumlik, Mark Cassidy, Ashlie Corcoran, Kelly Daniels, Katrina Dunn, Hans Engel, David Ferry, Andrew Freund, Dennis Garnhum, Craig Hall, Todd Hammond, Sally Han, Ann Hodges, Eda Holmes, Heather Inglis, Lise Anne Johnson, Heather Jones-Barker, Paul Lampert, Michel Lefebvre, Nikki Lundmark, Kate Lynch, James MacDonald, Ruth Madoc-Jones, Randy Maertz, Jon Michaelson, Jean Morpurgo, David Oiye, Jack Paterson, Ian Prinsloo, Gyllian Raby, Karen Rickers, Paul Rivers, Lindsey Robinson, David Savoy, Sandhano Schultze, Autumn Smith, Laurel Smith, Glenda Stirling, Colin Taylor, Susan Turnbull, Rona Waddington, Lezlie Wade, Craig Walker, Lee Wilson, Richard Wolfe and Johnna Wright.

Sun Life FinancialSince its inception in 1988, the project has been sponsored annually by Sun Life Financial and Theatre Ontario.

This logo is a trademark of Sun Life and Sun Life reserves all rights of ownership therein.

Read more about the Neil Munro Intern Directors Project at the Shaw


401 Richmond Street West, Suite 350, Toronto, ON, M5V 3A8
Telephone: 416.408.4556 (Find an Extension) / Fax: 416.408.3402
Get Directions / Contact Us via E-Mail


Monday to Friday: 9 am to 5 pm
(In July and August, our hours are Monday to Thursday: 9 am to 5 pm and Friday: 9 am to 1 pm)