Congratulations to the Professional Theatre Training Program Spring 2019 Grant Recipients

We are pleased to announce the latest recipients of training grants through Theatre Ontario’s Professional Theatre Training Program (PTTP). We thank all those who applied to the program.

Over $28,900 was awarded in total among the following 9 recipients:

  • Kanika Ambrose will train in Directing / Artistic Direction with Weyni Mengesha at Volcano Theatre and Soulpepper Theatre Company in Toronto
  • Marc Bondy will train in Directing with Haysam Kadri at the Arts Club Theatre in Vancouver BC
  • Chantal Chevalier will train in Dramaturgy / Performance Creation with ted witzel at Stratford Festival in Stratford
  • Katherine Cullen will train in Directing with Mitchell Cushman at Outside the March in Toronto
  • Jill Harper will train in Directing / Dramaturgy with Sarah Garton Stanley, Joanna Falck and Richard Rose at the Tarragon Theatre in Toronto
  • Alexandra Herzog will train in Choreography and Directing with Stephanie Graham at Thousand Islands Playhouse in Gananoque
  • Peter Krantz will train in Directing with Patricia Vanstone at the Foster Festival in St. Catharines
  • Eryn Lidster will train in Theatre Creation and Direction with Kate Story in Peterborough
  • Lisa Randall will train in Playwriting with Michael Miller in Toronto

Over $90,000.00 was requested this round. The next application deadline will be September 2, 2019.

Our Professional Theatre Training Program (PTTP) offers financial support for unique and flexible training with a chosen mentor in any theatrical discipline except performance.

Learn more about the Professional Theatre Training Program

This program is funded by the Ontario Arts Council, an agency of the Government of Ontario.



401 Richmond Street West, Suite 350, Toronto, ON, M5V 3A8
Telephone: 416.408.4556 (Find an Extension) / Fax: 416.408.3402
Get Directions / Contact Us via E-Mail


Monday to Friday: 9 am to 5 pm
(In July and August, our hours are Monday to Thursday: 9 am to 5 pm and Friday: 9 am to 1 pm)