Theatre Ontario Festival 2016 Awards

2016_BoeingBoeingTheatre Ontario Festival Awards are presented to Ontario's best community theatre productions, showcased at the annual Theatre Ontario Festival.

2016 Productions

2016 Awards

Award winners and honourable mentions are chosen by adjudicator Mimi Mekler (unless otherwise specified).

The Elsie For Outstanding Festival Production

  • Boeing Boeing, Northumberland Players

Honourable Mention

  • The Drowning Girls, The Curtain Club

Outstanding Director

  • Joan Burrows, The Drowning Girls

Honourable Mentions

  • James Finan, Boeing Boeing
  • Henri Canino, 33 Variations

Outstanding Performance by a Female

  • Audrey Hummelen as Dr. Katherine Brandt, 33 Variations

Honourable Mentions

  • Patsy McVicars as Wavy, Curved
  • Tanya Webb as Del, Curved

Outstanding Performance by a Male

  • Jamie Hunt as Robert, Boeing Boeing

Outstanding Performance by a Male in a Supporting Role

  • David Hoare as Bernard, Boeing Boeing

Honourable Mention

  • Darryl Heater as Mike Clark, 33 Variations

Outstanding Performance by a Female in a Supporting Role

  • Andrea Hughes Coleman as Dr. Gertie Ladenburger, 33 Variations

Honourable Mention

  • Johanna McPherson as Chloe, Curved

Outstanding Visual Presentation

  • Boeing Boeing (James Finan, Set Designer; Ken & Jody Forsyth, Set Décor; Joe & Diana Flynn, Properties; Jamie Finan, Costume Designer; Mary Smith & Melissa Thornton, Make-up & Hair)

Honourable Mentions

  • Curved (Arndt Vonholtzendorff, Set Designer)
  • The Drowning Girls (Wayne Milliner, Set Designer; Mark Hayward, Lighting Designer)

Outstanding Technical Achievement

  • The Drowning Girls (John Willcock, Master Plumber)

Honourable Mention

  • 33 Variations (Alexandra Weselaken, Projection Design)

Outstanding Coordinated Production

(This award is chosen by the Festival Stage Manager)

  • Northumberland Players

Special Adjudicator Award

  • For outstanding ensemble: Tamara Van Bakel as Bessie, Nicole Wahl as Alice & Shelly Meichenbaum as Margaret, The Drowning Girls

Special Adjudicator Award

  • "The Cherry on Top Award" for that special something in a curtain call: Alina Adjemian, choreographer, Boeing Boeing

Special Adjudicator Award

  • "The Taboo Award" - For openness in dealing with difficult subjects: The cast (Johanna McPherson as Chloe, Tanya Webb as Del, Joanne Bernier as Estelle, June Keevil as Granny Wave, Stephanie Haines as Nurse & Patsy McVicars as Wavy), Curved

Special Adjudicator Award

  • "The Theme and Variation Award": Dan Sonier, the pianist, 33 Variations

Special Adjudicator Award

  • "The 3 Cs Award" - For Creativity, Commitment and Comedy: Kristy Bird as Gloria, Helen Pitt Matthew as Berthe, Jody Ledgerwood as Gabriella & Anne-Marie Bouthillette as Gretchen, Boeing Boeing

For more information about the Theatre Ontario Festival 2016 Awards, please contact Brandon Moore, Community Theatre and Communications Manager at or 416.408.4556 x.13.


401 Richmond Street West, Suite 350, Toronto, ON, M5V 3A8
Telephone: 416.408.4556 (Find an Extension) / Fax: 416.408.3402
Get Directions / Contact Us via E-Mail


Monday to Friday: 9 am to 5 pm
(In July and August, our hours are Monday to Thursday: 9 am to 5 pm and Friday: 9 am to 1 pm)