Notice of AGM 2011

Notice Of Theatre Ontario's Annual General Meeting

The 2011 Annual General Meeting will be held Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 11:30am at The Curtain Club, 400 Newkirk Road, Richmond Hill, Ontario. The meeting is open to all members in good standing.

Group members may send as many representatives as they wish but are allowed only one vote. Download a proxy form for organizations (PDF).

If you are a Theatre Ontario member and are unable to attend the Annual General Meeting, you can have another person represent you by proxy. Download a proxy form for individuals (PDF).

If you are unable to download the proxy form, please contact us at 416.408.4556 x.15.

The forms must be signed, completed and returned to Theatre Ontario by May 13, 2011 at 4pm (to ensure delivery to the meeting), or can be brought in-person to the Annual General Meeting.

Election Of The Board Of Directors 2011-2012

The Board of Directors is made up of fifteen individuals.

Five of the fifteen positions on the Board are appointed by the community theatre regions. Two were appointed to two-year terms beginning in 2010 and are returning to the Board in 2011:

  • Mark Mooney, London - Western Ontario Drama League representative.
  • Andy Trasuk, Cornwall - Eastern Ontario Drama League representative.

Three will be appointed to two-year terms beginning in 2011. Incumbents are:

  • Sheena Albanese, Thunder Bay - Northwestern Ontario representative and current Secretary. (Term-limited - a new representative shall be appointed.)
  • Helen Landry, Sudbury - QUONTA (northeastern Ontario) representative.
  • Cam Lund, Newmarket - Association of Community Theatres' Central Ontario representative and current Member-at-Large and Chair of the Community Theatre Committee.

Ten of the fifteen positions on the Board are elected to reflect the mandate to ensure regional representation and representation from the professional and educational theatre sectors, as well as any special expertise the Board may require from time to time. Four Board members were elected to two-year terms beginning in 2010 and are returning to the Board in 2011:

  • Michael Grit, Richmond Hill - Theatre Manager of the Richmond Hill Centre for the Performing Arts
  • Debra McLauchlan, St. Catharines - teacher of preservice drama education at Brock University
  • Julianne Snepsts, Toronto - Co-Artistic Producer of the Toronto Sketch Comedy Festival and current President
  • Brian Van Norman, Waterloo - adjudicator, workshop leader, director and writer

Two positions became vacant during the 2010-2011 year due to resignation, and appointments by the Board, requiring ratification by the membership at the 2011 AGM, were made:

  • Emma Mackenzie Hillier, Toronto - actor, assistant director and arts administrator
  • Ken Stephen, Woodstock - retired teacher, and community theatre director, stage manager and Executive member

Six positions shall be elected for the 2011-12 Board of Directors.

Report of the Nominating Committee

We have received five nominations for election to the Board. Nominations are now closed and are not permitted from the floor at the AGM. The nominees are:

  • Emma Mackenzie Hillier, Toronto (appointed interim Board member)
  • Angela Rebeiro, Toronto (returning Board member)
  • Chris Scholey, Toronto (returning Board member)
  • Deb Sholdice, Blyth (new Board member)
  • Ken Stephen, Woodstock (appointed interim Board member)

As per the by-laws, a vote to approve the slate of candidates and ratify the appointments shall be held at the Annual General Meeting. The remaining vacancy shall be filled by an appointment as per the by-laws of Theatre Ontario.

Read the bios of the new Board members


401 Richmond Street West, Suite 350, Toronto, ON, M5V 3A8
Telephone: 416.408.4556 (Find an Extension) / Fax: 416.408.3402
Get Directions / Contact Us via E-Mail


Monday to Friday: 9 am to 5 pm
(In July and August, our hours are Monday to Thursday: 9 am to 5 pm and Friday: 9 am to 1 pm)