Notice of AGM 2013

The Theatre Ontario 2013 Annual General Meeting will be held Saturday, May 25 at 10:30am at the Robert Gill Theatre (University of Toronto), 214 College Street, Toronto, Ontario (the northwest corner of College and St. George Streets.)  The main entrance for the theatre is via St. George Street.  An underground parking lot can be found on the east side of Huron Street, north of College Street.

The meeting is open to all, but only members in good standing can vote on business before the meeting.  Please RSVP for meeting to Cornelia Persich, Education Coordinator, at or 416.408.4556 x.10 so we can plan for appropriate numbers.

If you are a Theatre Ontario member and are unable to attend the Annual General Meeting, you can be represented by proxy. Download a proxy form (PDF).  If you are unable to download the proxy form, please contact Brandon Moore, Communications Coordinator, at or 416.408.4556 x.13.  The proxy form must be completed, signed, and returned to Theatre Ontario by May 24 at 5pm (to ensure delivery to the meeting), or it can be submitted in-person at the Annual General Meeting by your proxy.

Amendment to the By-Laws

The following amendment to the Theatre Ontario by-laws will be voted upon at the Annual Meeting:

"Be it resolved that Theatre Ontario By-Law 6.2, Section i be amended to include an additional sentence: In the event that there are no group members in good standing from the Northwest community theatre sector, or that those group member(s) are unable to appoint a representative, that position shall instead be considered as an additional elected representative as described in By-Law 6.2, Section ii."

Report of the Nominating Committee

The Board of Directors is made up of fifteen individuals.

Pending the outcome of the amendment to the by-laws, four of the fifteen positions on the 2013-2014 Board are appointed by the community theatre regions.  Incumbents are:

  • Rita Ferguson (Oakville)
  • Helen Landry (Sudbury)
  • Mark Mooney (London)
  • Liz Schell (Kingston)

Eleven of the fifteen positions on the 2013-2014 Board are elected “to reflect the mandate to ensure regional representation and representation from the professional and educational theatre sectors, as well as any special expertise the Board may require from time to time.” Six of those eleven positions were elected to two-year terms beginning in 2012:

  • Barry Freeman (Toronto)
  • John Goddard (Toronto)
  • Elley-Ray Hennessy (Toronto)
  • Tabitha Keast (Toronto)
  • Cam Lund (Newmarket)
  • Renna Reddie (Toronto)

Five of those eleven positions shall be elected for the 2013-14 Board of Directors.

We have received five nominations for election to the Board.  Nominations are now closed and are not permitted from the floor at the AGM.  The nominees are:

  • Kenny Chan (Toronto)
  • Kristina Nicoll (Toronto)
  • Deb Sholdice (Blyth)
  • Ken Stephen (Woodstock)
  • Joanne Williams (Toronto)

Read the bios of the nominees for election

As per the by-laws of Theatre Ontario, a vote to approve the slate of candidates shall be held at the Annual General Meeting.


401 Richmond Street West, Suite 350, Toronto, ON, M5V 3A8
Telephone: 416.408.4556 (Find an Extension) / Fax: 416.408.3402
Get Directions / Contact Us via E-Mail


Monday to Friday: 9 am to 5 pm
(In July and August, our hours are Monday to Thursday: 9 am to 5 pm and Friday: 9 am to 1 pm)